Where can I learn about the semantic web?

When I first started taking an interest in semantic web technologies, I sought out places with quality information and opinion. Too often I found there was no up-to-date 'directory' listing the thought leaders in the field. Many information outlets were associated with specific products rather than design principles or standards. That made the initial learning process painful.

For the first question in SemanticOverflow I'd like your thoughts on where the richest sources of impartial semantic web wisdom and background are to be found. Where should I go, if I'm a beginner, to best help me ascend the semantic web learning curve? What about if I've grokked the fundamentals and want to dig deeper? How do I become a semantic web ninja?

UPDATE

The following list shows the links provided so far.

Information Sites

1. W3C Primer
  2. esw.w3.org/topic/
  3. www.rdfabout.com/
  4. www.w3.org/2001/sw/
  5. www.w3.org/DesignIssues/
  6. videolectures.net/Top/Computer_Science/Semantic_Web/
  7. www.semanticschool.com/ (Polish, maybe English in future)
  8. semanticweb.com/
  9. Semantic University
  10. Lee Feigenbaum's tutorials and overview
  11. Aaron Swartz's RDF Primer Primer
  12. linkeddata.org guides and tutorials
  13. co-ode guide to ontology development
  14. Talis' - HowTo and Getting Started guides
  15. Ontolog Forum
  16. Semantic web at Reddit
  17. semanticweb.org
  18. SemanticUniverse.com Semantic Technology Conference site.
  19. linkeddatatools.com Semantic Web Basics
  20. semanticfuture.net Semantic Future (Wiki + forum), mostly Russian
  21. Semantic Web on SlideShare

Blogs

1. Jeni Tennison
  2. Ivan Herman
  3. Kingsley Idehen
  4. Michael Hausenblas
  5. Henry Story
  6. Talis' Nodalities Blog
  7. planetrdf.com - Blog Aggregator

Books (see also: W3C List)

1. Semantic Web for the Working Ontologist - Allemang & Hendler
  2. Linked Data Patterns - Dodds & Davis