Semantic web programmers: what background do you have?

In order to get a grasp of the kinds of skills that are present in the field, I wondered what kind of backgrounds people working with semantic technologies have?

I'm guessing a lot of CS, but I know a lot of people (myself included) who have other backgrounds.

Is there a benefit to be had from the (educational) background you have? Are there issues that need to be addressed if you come from a specific background?

I've been programming since age 10 when I saw an Apple II in school and soon got a TRS-80 Color Computer.

I got a PhD i theoretical physics, did a postdoc for a year, and have worked in the software industry ever since.

I've worked on digital library sites, CMS deployments, e-commerce and other kinds of web applications. I've had my hands in literally hundreds of different web sites -- some of which are my own and some of which are for other people. I've worn DBA, sysadmin, webmaster and maintenance programmer hats at various times. Whenever i've really needed a job in a pinch, it's always seemed that somebody needed a Rich Internet Application. I had a job writing Java applets back when Java was in beta and also did a semantic graph editor in GWT as well as 3-d graphics and complex asynchronous communication in Javascript -- I've never done anything successful in Flash though.

I've worked on code written by McArthur geniuses and by people who left to go to school in Artificial Intelligence because they needed it.

I worked on a project called the Global Performing Arts Database that had one of the most advanced data models in any digital library I've seen -- it should have used RDF but we used postgresql and had to write a graph traversal engine on top of it. I got lucky enough to work with some professors who work in machine learning, and learned a bit about the SVM, Hidden Markov Models and similar stuff.